Food hunting @ Fortune Centre! (Hotcakes, Vegandeli, New Green Pasture Cafe)

I thought that I was gonna get lost on my way to Fortune Centre. Fortunately, it’s only about 5-10 mins walk?? 😅😅 It’s really easy to get there. My mummy and I took a picture of the local map or sth near the escalator of exit A at Bugis and we just followed the directions.

Our first stop was Hotcakes! It is located at level 1. We tried the Nasi Lemak, Nasi Briyani and Tiramisu Cake. 😋😋

Nasi Lemak! ($6.90)

My mummy really loves the chilli sauce. It tastes sweet and spicy. She was even asking me whether the staff will be willing to sell their chilli sauce. 😂😂 She was so upset when she heard that she can actually request for more chilli to be added only after she finished the rice. 😯😯 The rice is soft and really fragrant too. There’s this coconut and pandan aroma that makes the rice really yummy. The fish is baked, so it tastes crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside.The portion is big too so double thumbs up. 👍👍

This is my first time trying nasi briyani and ‘mutton’. I think the meat is supposed to be mutton… I’m not really sure haha I can’t compare this to the actual non-vegans one cos I’ve never tried those before. I wasn’t really fond of the taste of the spices of the rice but if you like the taste, then I think you’ll like this a lot. This is one of the more popular dishes if I’m not wrong. 😃😃 Not that I’m trying to exaggerate, but the feeling I got when I tasted the rice was that it was super light, soft and fluffy!! Is this how the rice is supposed to taste like or is it just because the staff cook the rice really well?? The meat was kinda chewy. If this was actual meat, I would have spit it out because I really hate meat that are chewy I don’t know why. I prefer the hard firm textures of chicken breasts. But this isn’t real meat haha so I finished them all. The curry was okay, a little spicy and oily. I really like the potatoes in the curry though hehe they tasted delicious. I think the cabbage complements the curry and rice really well because it was flavourful but not overpowering.

Lastly, we had the tiramisu cake. 🍰🍰 I like it, but I didn’t think that this tasted exceptional. The cake was quite dense and dry. Fortunately, the cream was light and fluffy so it wasn’t that hard to swallow the cake. And I think that’s what I like the most about the cake: the cream. 🦄🦄

I had a really pleasant experience at Hotcakes too thanks to the really friendly and kind staff. The waiting time was quite long though, so be prepared to wait for about 15mins for your dish to arrive. I can’t wait to eat at Hotcakes again. 😀😀

Next, also at level 1, we tried the bento set at Vegandeli. There was no rice, so we ordered the kung pao chicken w mushrooms and ramen.

Kung pao chicken w mushrooms and ramen ($9.90)

The sauce of the chicken was okay, slightly sweet. The chicken texture also tasted like the real ones that I had before. However, the pineapple was a little cold. The mushrooms also tasted really weird. There’s this rubbery taste that my mummy and I didn’t like… 🍄🍄 The ramen was normal and the soup base was herbal style. My mummy regretted trying the food at this place and she concluded that she wouldn’t want to eat here anymore. Is there anything nice here that we should’ve tried? I wouldn’t recommend this dish though. I’d rather eat at Hotcakes which is located at the same level as Vegandeli.
Lastly, we headed to level 4 to try the Sri Lankan Roll at New Green Pasture Cafe.

Sri Lankan Roll ($8.50)

This dish is simply amazing. The wrap was thin and crispy. The curry flavour was so rich and aromatic. My mummy was craving for even more after we gobbled em down. 👅👅 Sadly, the waiting time is quite long, about 15mins, and we were in a rush so we didn’t get more of it.

I had a really enjoyable day today food hunting w my mummy. I hope you like the post and please share w me what else is nice at Fortune Centre. 😊😊

Have a pleasant day ahead!

Leave a comment